Pediatric Patient Assistance Funds

With decreasing public support, increasing financial burdens due to these medical conditions, and the challenge of balancing all of these factors, our families are frequently stressed and overwhelmed. Our public-benefit organization tries to assist families by relieving these stressors and contributing towards healthy community strategy. We can help with small items (things that are immediate and may possibly fall thru the cracks during necessary treatment) like home utility bills, gasoline for treatments, medication, incidentals, and lodging.  During times of catastrophic or life threatening illness for children ages 0-17, MMF provides those families assistance in creating everlasting memories and improving quality of life.

 

The non-profit foundation creates separate Mendiburu Magic Funds (patient assistance) at various medical organizations/hospitals within our given service area; and these monies in this account can be used towards any service request related to our MMF mission and/or stated guidelines. The Mendiburu Magic Fund is only to be used for children (and families effected) ages 0-17 and residents of Kern County and approved/screened by social services staff or medical staff employed by the partner agency.

Assistance Criteria

The non-profit foundation creates separate Mendiburu Magic Funds at various medical organizations/hospitals within our given service area; and these monies in this account can be used towards any service request related to our MMF mission and/or stated guidelines. The Mendiburu Magic Fund is only to be used for children (and families effected) ages 0-17 and residents of Kern County and approved/screened by medical social services staff employed by the partner agency. Criteria for usage of the fund are as follows:

  • All client service requests must be signed/approved by an official from the partner agency and/or medical organization that will authorize expenditure from the mentioned fund
  • The medical condition of the child (ages 0-17) must be classified as “life-threatening” and/or “catastrophic,” according to accredited medical personnel (accredited physician) employed by the partner agency and/or medical organization
  • The funded item/level of assistance cannot be something covered by normal medical insurance
  • The funded item/level of assistance must be classified as emergency and/or something that could potentially “fall thru the cracks” when the family is tending to the sick child and during the course of treatment, six months from the first day of diagnosis
  • Specially funded client requests that are not mentioned and/or clearly defined can be approved by majority vote of the Governing Board of Directors (with advice and consent from the Community Advisory Council) for Mendiburu Magic Foundation within 48 hours of the request. The Office of the President must initiate this process.

How to Apply

For more information, please contact the Mendiburu Magic Funds representative for your hospital.

Mendiburu Magic Contact

Brian Mendiburu(661) 319-3081
Email: brianmendiburu@gmail.com

Valley Children’s Hospital, Madera

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Maria Gutierrez
Email: MGutierrez1@valleychildrens.org
or
Deonna Villegas-McPeters
Email: DVillegasmcpeters@valleychildrens.org
Phone: (559) 262-8611

Hospital Foundation Contact
Hannah Johnson
Hjohnson2@valleychildrens.org

Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Glenda Danek
Email: GDanek@chla.usc.edu
or
Sandy Himmelrich
Email: shimmelrich@chla.usc.edu
Phone: (323) 361-2483

Hospital Foundation Contact
Peter Lefevre
Email: plefevre@chla.usc.edu

UCLA Medical Center Children’s Hospital
University of California, Los Angeles

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Lana Wohlschlegel
Email: LWohl@mednet.ucla.edu
Phone: (310) 825-9590 or
(323) 361-2483

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Randie Cloutier-Chaine
Email: Randie.Cloutier-chaine@cshs.org
Phone: (310) 423-4446

Bakersfield Memorial Hospital/Dignity Health

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Gary DeRisio
Email: Gary.DeRisio@DignityHealth.org
Phone: (661) 327-4647 ext 3377

City of Hope

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Renee Ortiz
Email: reortiz@coh.org
or
Alejandra Muro
Email: amuro@coh.org
Phone: (626) 256-4673 ext 64211

Hospital Foundation Contact
Suzanne Lawrence
Phone: (626) 218-7280
Email: slawrence@coh.org

San Francisco Benioff Children’s Hospital

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Rebecca Gates
Email: Rebecca.Gates@ucsf.edu
Phone: (415) 502-2188

Children’s Hospital Orange County

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Karen Pugh
Email: kpugh@choc.org
Phone: (714) 509-3258

Hospital Foundation Contact
Jeff Hodgens
Email: jhodgens@choc.org

Rady Children’s Hospital, San Diego

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Sandy Mueller
Email: smueller@rchsd.org
Phone: (858) 576-1700 ext 2481

Hospital Foundation Contact
Andrew Nunn-Miller
Phone: (858) 966-7569

Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Joshua Richo
Email: jricho@sbch.org
Phone: (805) 569-8321

Long Beach Miller Children’s and Women’s Hospital

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Donna Rosenlund
Email: DLewis@memorialcare.org
Phone: (562) 933-3951

Hospital Foundation Contact
Jan McQueen
Email: JMcqueen@memorialcare.org
Phone: (562) 933-1674

Stanford Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Maribel Gutierrez
Email: MariGutierrez@stanfordchildrens.org
Phone: (650) 721-1927

CBCC “Comfort Cab” Transportation Program

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Michelle Avila
Email: mavila@cbccusa.com
Comprehensive Blood & Cancer Center
(661) 817-0106

Angel Flight West

Primary Contact/Fund Manager
Dr. Scott Garrison
Email: Garrisonss@aol.com
Phone: (661) 808-6751 or (888) 426-2643
(A Guide to Free Air Transportation for Those in Need Traveling for Medical Care)